The Camino de Santiago through La Rioja does not have many kilometers, but the cities it runs through have a great meaning Jacobeo. Stages through the La Rioja plains, marked by farmland and its famous vineyards, which find a remarkable orographic change in the Montes de Oca, near Burgos.
Stage 1: Logroño-Najera

In La Grajera highlight the reservoir and park that bears his name.

In Navarrete the Church of the Assumption of the s. XVI, Herrerian style with an interesting Baroque altarpiece from the XVI century.

The Ruins of the Hospital of San Juan de Ocre, cover in whose capitals different scenes of the daily life of the pilgrims are represented.

In Ventosa the Church of San Saturnino, whose square tower of the seventeenth century offers the best watchtower to recreate with the red clayey vine-covered fields that surround Ventosa. The original construction dates back to the 16th century and from this period it preserves its Gothic façade.

In Najera highlight the Monastery of Santa María la Real, artistic insignia of the former capital of the Kingdom of Navarre.

Founded in 1052, it was rebuilt in the 15th century in Gothic style. The plateresque cloister of the Knights stands out from the set, endowed with precious stone lattices.

Stage 2: Najera-santo Domingo de la Calzada

The parish church of the s. XVII and s. XVIII, dedicated to Our Lady of the Angels, can be contemplated a size of Santiago Pilgrim.

A few kilometers from Azofra are the Monasteries of Suso and Yuso of San Millán de la Cogolla. They are Patrimony of the Humanity and cradle of the Castilian language with their Glosas Emilianenses, handwritten annotations written in Latin, romance and euskera.

In Santo Domingo de la Calzada highlights its Cathedral. The cathedral, the most emblematic building of the town, was erected on the sepulcher of the Saint. The plant is Romanesque but its style is Gothic and Renaissance. In the interior, in front of the tomb of the Saint, is the niche where a rooster and a chicken coexist in memory of the legend of the hen that "he sang after roasting." A tower-bell can be raised and is a good choice since the view from above is worth it. Opposite, the Parador de Turismo keeps in its interior several elements of the old Pilgrim's Hospital.

In Santo Domingo de la Calzada also deserves special review the Convent of San Francisco, Calle Mayor, the Town Hall, The Walls, The tower Sor María de Leiva.

Stage 3: Santo Domingo de la Calzada-Belorado

In Redecillas del Camino: Highlight the Palace Houses, the Romanesque Baptismal font from the 12th century (Sta. María Church).

In Belorado we can visit the Church of Santa María, work of s. XVI, with a magnificent altarpiece in stone, dedicated entirely to Santiago.

The Church of San Nicolás with the image of San Caprasio.

At the exit of this village is the bridge built by San Juan de Ortega.

Stage 4: Belorado-San Juan de Ortega

In Tosantos it emphasizes, to the right of the way, the rock chapel of Our Lady of the Rock, excavated in the mountain. Inside, a Romanesque image of S. XII is venerated.

Half a kilometer before Villafranca de los Montes de Oca, is the so-called San Felices apse. It is the remains of an old Mozarabic Monastery of the SX

Already in Villafranca de Montes de Oca, is the Hospital of San Antonio Abad; of him the main entrance has been conserved, on which the shield of the Catholic Kings is sculpted.

The Church of Santiago, from the s. XVIII. His baptismal font is a giant natural shell brought from the Philippine Islands.

In San Juan de Ortega highlights its Sanctuary, which deserves a visit due to its importance.

Stage 5: San Juan de Ortega-Burgos

In Burgos, the Metropolitan Cathedral of Santa María, magnificent Gothic work begun in 1221 by Fernando III El Santo and consecrated in 1260 for its architectural grandeur, for the richness of its interior ornamentation, the Cathedral of Burgos is one of the most valuable monuments of art Spanish. From its emblematic Gothic towers to the tomb of El Cid on the cruise, everything is great in it.

The Church of San Nicolás, Gothic S. XV, and Santa Gadea.

The House of the Cord or Palace of the Condestable, Door and Arch of Santa María and Cartuja de Miraflores.

The Monastery of Las Huelgas Reales, deserves a special visit. Founded by Alfonso VIII in 1187, for religious of high rank, under the rule of San Bernardo. It served as the burial of several kings of Castile. After Fernando III El Santo there were crowned several kings.

Show all
Hide all